Monday, June 2, 2014

Details for ADA Banquet and Membership Convention

Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

ADA Awards Banquet

ADA’s 67th Annual Awards Banquet and Convention takes place this week at the Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill.  

When:  Wednesday, June 4, 2014 
     Reception will begin at 6:00 PM
     Dinner and awards ceremony will begin at 7:00 PM
Where:  Washington Court Hotel
     525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington, DC 20001

We are delighted to honor Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders with the Frances Perkins Award for Public Service, in recognition of his many years of work fighting for the middle class and being an outspoken advocate for a progressive future.

Wisconsin Senator Tammy Baldwin, ADA's Bayard Rustin Citizen of Change award recipient, has been a trailblazer in Wisconsin and in Washington. Her critical work on healthcare reform, tax fairness, and student debt have cemented her as a true citizen of change.

Max Richtman, the President of the National Committee to Protect Social Security and Medicare, is receiving the Winn Newman Equality Award. Max has been a tireless advocate for equal treatment of seniors as well as the protection and expansion of key support programs.


It’s not too late to reserve your ticket!  Purchase your ticket for ADA’s Awards Banquet here.

ADA Membership Convention

Since 1947, ADA has held membership conventions to connect with members from across the country and work with them to determine ADA policy.  Register for the convention here.

ADA Convention Agenda:

Thursday, June 5, 2014:  Activist Training and Lobby Day

Join us for our free ADA activist training and lobby day on Capitol Hill. Training in Montpelier room of Washington Court Hotel.  

9:30 AM – 10:30 AM:  Hill Lobby Training and Assignments
10:45 AM – 4:00 PM:  Hill Visits by ADA activists on core issues

RSVP for Thursday's activist training and lobby day here.  

Friday, June 6, 2014:  Convention Registration and Expert Panels

Hear from elected officials and issue experts during our series of enlightening panels, including Rep. Donna Edwards (D-MD) as our lunch keynote speaker. 

Panel Schedule:

Mending the Safety Net:  9:30 AM

Debbie Weinstein, Executive Director of Coalition on Human Needs
Dan Adcock, Director of Government Relations and Policy, National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare (NCPSSM)
Tim Thomas , Co-chair ADA Social and Domestic Commission

Global Engagement Without War:  11:15 am
Tom Andrews, National Director of Win Without War
Paul Kawika Martin, Political and Communications Director, Peace Action
William Markus, Co-Chair ADA Foreign and Military Commission
Lunch Keynote with Rep. Donna Edwards (D-MD):  12:45pm
Protecting and Securing Progress on Women’s Rights:  2:00 pm
Bonnie Grabenhofer, Action Vice President of National Organization for Women (NOW) 
Ellie Smeal, President of Feminist Majority
Rich Means, Co-Chair ADA Politics and Government Commission
Building Economic and Political Power through Organizing:  3:45pm
Brian Dunn, Manager, Campaigns and Elections, National Education Association (NEA)
Ezra Temko, ADA Delaware Field Organizer 
Christine Cegelis, Co-Chair ADA Economic, Energy and Environmental Commission
Saturday, June 7, 2015:  Commission Groups
Delegates participate in one of four policy action Commissions. Commission members will work to craft ADA’s priorities on key liberal issues.
Sunday, June 8, 2014:  Ideas to Action
Each policy action commission will report on its issue priorities, and together convention delegates will learn how to turn ideas into action.

Purchase your tickets to ADA’s membership convention here!

Donate to ADA
ADA: Proudly. Staunchly. Liberal
Click here to donate


Get Connected


News and Notes

Copyright (C) 2013.  Americans for Democratic Action  All rights reserved.


No comments:

Post a Comment